Building Our Eternity

Static sparks;
eyes meet.
Sparks drift across the room.

Brush of fingers;
tightening of skin.
I long to share my breath with you.

Whispered secrets
in the dark.
Tells-alls in a world we built.

Fragrant flowers;
white lace.
Something borrowed, something blue.

Small house,
smaller checks.
Building our eternity.

Two dogs;
big yard.
Hallways bare of infant cries.

Perfect timing,
wait, wait, wait.
Are we dreaming much too big?

Bigger houses,
better jobs.
If we build it, will they come?

Eyes down;
press ahead.
We’re gonna make it after all.

Dark days,
hard times.
We’ll survive. We always do.

Phone calls;
changes.
God works in mysterious ways.

Wet cheeks;
bright eyes.
Welcome to our eternity.

Warm hugs;
long days;
This was all worth waiting for.

Leave a Reply

I’m Paul

Paul sitting with a pile of books

I am a bestselling indie author and lover of all things bookish! Come enjoy my little corner of the world, where I’m bound to talk about anything from comic books to required reading to poetry I love and everything in between. Please stay a while!

Let’s connect